September 1, 2019 Fuller
West Old Varieties Downgrades 100718

As part of Wheat Quality Australia’s ongoing work to improve the competitiveness of Australia’s wheat industry, 14 newly classified wheat varieties, one feed variety and 13 milling varieties have been announced in the 2019 WQA Wheat Variety Master List – along with the removal of 4 old wheat varieties first flagged for removal in 2017.

The 2019 List introduces: Catapult, Sunchaser, LRPB Hellfire, LRPB Nighthawk, LRPB Nyala, LRPB Oryx, LRPB Parakeet, Devil, Kinsei, Sheriff CL Plus, Vixen, DBA Artemis, DBA Spes, and RGT Relay.

These new releases contain varieties classified in all the Hard classes APH, AH, APW and ASW, ; Noodle ANW, APW(N) and AH(N); Soft ASFT;  Durum ADR and Feed.

In the Western Zone there are a number of upgrades this year, including: Illabo, Coolah, Beckom, Suntop and Elmore CL Plus to AH. With the decision to segregate APW(N) a number of varieties have been upgraded to have the noodle classification added to their existing Hard Class, including LRPB Havoc to AH (N); Cutlass to APW(N) and LRPB Trojan to APW(N). Condo has also been upgraded to APW in the Western Zone.

Upgrades in other zones include: Illabo to AH in the Northern Zone; Sunprime to AH in the Southern Zone; EG Titanium to APW in the Northern Zone; Chief CL Plus to APW in the South Eastern Zone.

The range of classes released across all four zones, shows the breadth of new varieties being classified and upgraded to meet a range of market needs.

The 2019/20 Wheat Variety Master List represents the continuation of Wheat Quality Australia’s work over the past six seasons in reviewing varieties more than 10 years old. As a result of this review process, 361 varieties have been reviewed with 288 flagged for removal, 13 downgraded, 1 Upgraded and 59 re-classified with no change to classification over this period.

Of particular note this season are the once popular varieties in Central Queensland Kennedy, which had been downgraded to Feed, and Strzelecki which has been downgraded to AH. These changes have been the subject of an extensive consultation and communication process to ensure producers have adequate notice to adjust.

“Many of these old varieties represented a tiny percentage of wheat grown in Australia,” Dr Plowman said.

“The varieties removed are also no longer referenced in any state, industry or GRDC sowing guides, as they have been superseded by new varieties with better agronomic, yield and quality characteristics.

“This is now an ongoing process of updating and refreshing the list, to ensure the quality and competitiveness of Australian wheat worldwide.”

The 4 varieties removed from the Wheat Variety Master List in 2019/20 were first flagged for removal in 2017, and delivered in their existing class up until 2018 – they have now been removed after lengthy consultation with the industry.

Varieties planned for removal in 2020 are: SW Flamenco, Peake, LRPB Dakota, Merinda, EGA Wills, EGA Eaglehawk, EGA Jaeger, EGA Stampede, EGA Bounty, and Naparoo.

Varieties planned for removal in 2021 are: Blade, Clearfield JNZ, Clearfield STL, Pugsley, Tammarin Rock, Binnu, LRPB Bullet, Yandanooka, Zulu, Zebu, Frelon, Zippy, Bumper, and Endure.

“WQA continues to work closely with all sectors of the Australian wheat industry to ensure the quality attributes for each class of wheat are directly aligned with end use market requirements.”