September 1, 2020 Fuller

As part of Wheat Quality Australia’s ongoing work to improve the competitiveness of Australia’s wheat industry, nine newly classified wheat varieties, four feed varieties, and five milling varieties have been announced in the 2020 WQA Wheat Variety Master List – along with the removal of 10 old wheat varieties first flagged for removal in 2018.

The 2020 List introduces: LRPB Stealth, Rockstar, BASF Ascot, Bitalli, Westcourt, HAW1, HAW2, HAW3 and RGT Ivory.

These new releases contain varieties classified in the Hard classes APH, AH and APW; Noodle AH(N);  Durum ADR and Feed. 

In the Western Zone there are a number of upgrades this year, including: Catapult and LRPB Kittyhawk to AH. With the decision to segregate APW(N) a number of varieties have been upgraded to have the noodle classification added to their existing Hard Class, including Sheriff to APW(N) and Vixen to AH(N). LRPB Nighthawk has also been upgraded to APW in the Western Zone.

Upgrades in other zones include: Vixen to AH in the Northern Zone; Devil to AH and LRPB Nighthawk to APW in the Southern Zone.

The range of classes released across all four zones, shows the breadth of new varieties being classified and upgraded to meet a range of market needs.

The 2020/21 Wheat Variety Master List represents the continuation of Wheat Quality Australia’s work over the past seven seasons in reviewing varieties more than 10 years old. As a result of this review process, 376 varieties have been reviewed, with 297 flagged for removal, 13 downgraded, 1 upgraded and 66 re-classified with no change to classification over this period.

Of particular note this season is the once popular variety in Western Australia Calingiri will now be removed from the Master List. This change has been the subject of an extensive consultation and communication process to ensure alternative lines of better-quality varieties have been made available in time for this removal, giving the market time to adjust.

“This is now an ongoing process of updating and refreshing the list, to ensure the quality and competitiveness of Australian wheat worldwide,” Dr Plowman, WQA Chairman said.

The 10 varieties removed from the Wheat Variety Master List in 2020/21 were first flagged for removal in 2018, and delivered in their existing class up until 2019 – they have now been removed after lengthy consultation with the industry.

Varieties planned for removal in 2021 include: Blade, Clearfield JNZ, Clearfield STL, Pugsley, Tammarin Rock, Binnu, LRPB Bullet, Yandanooka, Zulu, Zebu, Frelon, Zippy, Bumper, and Endure.

Varieties planned for removal in 2022 include: Batavia, Calingiri, Anlace, Marombi, Barham, LRPB Hornet, Sunvex, Waagan, and Fang. 

WQA continues to work closely with all sectors of the Australian wheat industry to ensure the quality attributes for each class of wheat are well aligned with end use market requirements.

The WQA 2020/21 Wheat Variety Master List is now available from the WQA website at www.wheatquality.com.au. It is also published in the Grain Trade Australia Wheat Standards at www.graintrade.org.au. For further information on the management of Old Varieties on the Master List, please contact Grain Producers Australia or Wheat Quality Australia.