See below for a list of frequently asked questions, if your question is not answered, please feel free to contact us.

What is Wheat Quality Australia?

Wheat Quality Australia (WQA) is an independent company whose purpose is to classify wheat varieties according to inherent quality attributes for end uses and the trade in line with market needs.  WQA is the owner and producer of Australia’s Wheat Variety Master List.

What is the Wheat Variety Master List?

The Wheat Variety Master List contains the names of all current varieties approved by Australia’s wheat classification process. The Master List records the highest possible grade available for respective varieties.  It is updated annually, forms part of each season’s Grain Trade Australia (GTA) Wheat Standards, is published on the Wheat Quality Australia website on September 1 and is distributed to stakeholders.

How is the Wheat Variety Master List used by industry?

The practical implementation of classification of wheat varieties is through acceptance of the Wheat Variety Master List as the basis for segregation at harvest, and accurate declaration of variety upon delivery.  This is achieved by incorporating the Master List into the Wheat Standards published by GTA on behalf of industry each year.

What is wheat quality?

Wheat quality refers to the performance of wheat grain to meet the requirements of its processors (flour milling) and end use in breads, noodles, cereals, pasta or animal feed.  Consistent quality requires effective selection of inherited quality and management of environmental variation and potential contamination across the supply chain. This is delivered by wheat classification (by WQA) working in tandem with the Wheat Standards and the broader Grain Industry Code of Conduct managed by GTA.

What is wheat classification?

Wheat classification is the categorisation of wheat varieties into groups of similar performance for both processing and end use (food) applications. It is based on the variety’s performance in multi season comparisons for around 30 measured attributes, compared with those of control varieties of known performance.

What is the difference between classification and GTA standards?

GTA Wheat Standards require the measurement of physical characteristics of the grain such as protein, moisture, test weight and screenings along with minimum acceptable contaminants and defects. Compliance with the Wheat Standards is based on testing post harvest. Classification measures the inherent qualities required for the grain’s end use which can’t be easily measured at receival, such as milling extraction, baking performance and noodle quality, and is assessed over multiples trial prior to the commercial release of a variety.