Classification decisions apply to wheat grown in specified geographic areas, referred to as classification zones.

Classification zones are split into four key areas.

  1. Northern classification zone, including Queensland and Northern NSW
  2. South-Eastern classification zone – Southern NSW
  3. Southern classification zone, including Victoria and South Australia
  4. Western classification zone – Western Australia

Primary and Out-of-Zone Classification Zones.

Classification decisions are reached by reference to a primary classification zone or an out-of-zone classification zone.

A primary classification zone is the geographic zone from which the first complete data set has been generated, and on the basis of which the first final classification decision can be made.

An out-of-zone classification zone is any region other than the primary classification zone.

Northern Classification Zone

South Eastern Classification Zone

South Classification Zone

West Classification Zone

Wheat classification is managed by Grains Australian Limited.